29 November 2016

Frailty by Betsy Reavley ~~~~~~BLOG TOUR~~~~~

I am delighted to host Frailty by  Betsy Reavley today where you will find a Q&A Interview with the lovely Betsy Reavley and also my thoughts on Frailty with a 4 star review which is out now.




Can you tell us a little about yourself and background?
I’m happily married and have two, beautiful, clever daughters. We live in Cambridge very close to the river, which I love to walk along watching the birds and the rowers.
I moved around a lot as a kid and went to lots of different schools so it’s really nice to be settled now.
I enjoyed school because I’m a social person but when I was diagnosed with Manic Depression aged 14 things got messy and I had to drop out of education. It took me about ten years to get my life back on track and during that difficult time I found solace in writing. Thanks to a large dose of Prozac I’m now halfway normal.


When did you know that you wanted to become a writer? and how did you go about it?
As a child I always used to write stories and illustrate them. I also love art but as I grew up words became more important to me than pictures. Writing for me is very cathartic. It helps settle and focus my mind. After being a miserable teenager and writing lots of poetry I decided I wanted to try writing a novel. It took me two years to complete. I tried all the big tradition agents and publishers but no one was interested. It was a very dark book with a lot of graphic violence that wasn’t going to appeal to the mass market. In the end an Indie publisher, Joffe Books, gave me a shot and published the book. That started me on my journey.

Can you tell us what genre your books are and the audience you write for?
I writer psychological thrillers, which tend to have a very dark centre. I write books I would want to read and for others who are interested in the grim side of human nature.

What is your writing process? and how long does it take?
How long is a piece of string?! Depends on the book really. My first book took me over two years and my latest book, The Optician’s wife, took six weeks to write.

Are your characters based on anyone you know or are they just fictional?
I take inspiration from people I’ve met and am fascinated by real life killers, who influence how I shape my characters.


Have you wrote about a personal experience in your novels?
In my first novel the main character is a Manic Depressive. I used my experience of being hospitalized in the novel.

What research do you do?
Google, books and more google.

Who would you like to co-write with and why?
I’m not sure I’d be very good at co-writing. I like to do things my way.

What's your favorite book?
I can’t possibly choose just one! I’ve can name a few – Agatha Chritie’s And then there were none. Shutter Island by Denis Lehane. Afterwards by Rosamund Lupton.  The Shining by Stephen King. Shrine by James Herbert. The Famished Road by Ben Okri. Enduring Love by Ian Mcewan.   I could go on, but I won’t.

What's your favorite food?
All of it – except jellied eels and raw celery – yuk.

What's your favorite film?
I know it’s kind of geeky but I fecking love Star Wars. I also love Psycho, Moonlight Mile, One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest and so many others but I’ll stop before I bore you.

What's your favorite song?
Pretty much anything by Areatha Franklin.

How can readers find out more information about yourself and your books?
I’m a huge Facebook slut so anyone who want to find me can do there. I love chatting to people.


Thank you so much for taking part in my Q&A Interview
A massive thank you for having me on your blog.


















The Book
How far would you go to protect your family?
Danny and Libby are about to face every parent’s worst nightmare.
When eight-year-old Hope Bird disappears without a trace, from the idyllic village where she lives, life for her family will never be the same again. Her parents know she would never have gone off alone and the police have no idea where she is. Then a child’s shoe is discovered and the case takes an unexpected turn. Soon a suspect is identified but this is only the beginning.
Will they ever find Hope?
Frailty is a haunting, gritty, psychological page-turner about the choices we make.

My Thoughts
After reading The Opticians Wife I couldn't wait to get stuck into Frailty. First of all I have to say that Frailty is a totally different kind of read to The Opticians Wife so if you expecting a twisted disturbing story  You might be slightly disappointed. Frailty is a whole different kind of twisted being on a totally different level with one of those subject matters that some readers may find hard to stomach. But for me I really enjoyed it.
So in this book we follow a story told from both Danny and Libby's point of view Where Eight year old hope disappears without a trace. Her parents know she never have gone off alone. Even the police have no idea where she is But the case takes an unexpected turn when a child's shoe is discover.
Being a parent myself this would be my worse nightmare and words cannot describe how I would feel. But the author has done a brilliant job of writing some very uncomfortable scenes and sensitivity is taken throughout the whole story.There is something about the style of writing that I truly love. And has always the author certainly knows how to grab the reader's attention from the very first page keeping you hooked until the very last page.
OMG and the ending…..I seriously didn't see that coming
I do have to say that for me this is more a crime story rather than a psychological thriller which is what I was expecting. And having read so many Crime novels I do think this is one of those stories that people will either love or hate! But for me this is a well deserved 4 stars which I highly recommend.

16 November 2016

While You Were Sleeping by Kathryn Croft~~~~~Blog Tour~~~~~~~

I am delighted to be kicking off While You were sleeping by Kathryn Croft Blog tour today with Sarah Hardy at By The Letters Books Review on publication day to. Today you can check out my thoughts with my 5 star review.

The Book

You wake up to find the man beside you is dead.
He is not your husband. This is not your bed.

Tara Logan adores her perfect little family: husband, Noah, and two children, teenager Rosie and eleven-year-old Spencer.

But her happiness is shattered when she wakes in her neighbour, Lee Jacobs’ bed, with no memory of how she got there or what happened between them. And worse – he has been stabbed to death.

Convinced she didn’t kill Lee, Tara flees home and stays silent, holding her breath as the investigation grips the neighbourhood.
But as her daughter spirals out of control, and her husband becomes increasingly distant, Tara starts to wonder if someone in her own life knows what really happened that night. And when the police turn their questions towards her, Tara realises she has to find out.

But what will it take to uncover the real story, and can she survive the truth?

My Thoughts

I am a massive Kathryn Croft fan and couldn't wait to get my hands on this latest novel by Kathryn. And has always I wasn't disappointed Kathryn has smashed it again with this electrifying and pulse racing read. This is the best one to date Kathryn's books just get better and better. Finding myself hooked from the start I devoured this book in one day I simply couldn't put it down.

Imagine You wake up to find the man beside you is dead. He is not your husband. This is not your bed. This is what happens to Tara Logan when she wakes up in her neighbor Lee Jacobs bed  to find him stabbed to death and having no memory at all about it! Convinced she didn't do she flees home. Leaving her Husband and children.  But as her daughter spirals out of control, and her husband becomes increasingly distant, Tara starts to wonder if someone in her own life knows what really happened that night. And when the police turn their questions towards her, Tara realises she has to find out.

WOW WOW WOW what a gripping story this will have you guessing from start to end. It certainly did with me with each chapter leaving you wanting more. And told from Tara’s point of view. What can I can but I absolutely loved it.

A massive high five to Kathryn for writing another roller coaster Psychological thriller that got my pulse racing yet again. Kathryn Croft is an author not to be missed and I highly recommend this book giving it a massive 5 stars.

Thank you to Netgalley and Bookouture for a copy in exchange for an honest review.





11 November 2016

Love You To Death By Caroline Mitchell~~~~~~BLOG TOUR~~~~~


I am so excited to kicking off Love You To Death By Caroline Mitchell Blog Tour today with Sarah Hardy at By the Letter Books Review. Being the first blogger to read this book, I have been dying to share my 5 star review with you all. Love You To Death is out Today and you can grab your copy on the link below.


The Book
Twenty years ago you were forced to give your daughter up. Now she’s back. Or is she?

Women who’ve had to give up children for adoption are being killed. A knock at their front door begins a nightmare from which they will never wake up.

East London Detective Ruby Preston and her team must hunt down a disturbed individual before someone else is taken. But when bodies start turning up, staged in perfect, domestic scenes, it carries the echo of a memory in Ruby's mind. The tinkling of a music box. A mother and child reunion...

Then just as Ruby thinks they've made a breakthrough, she receives a sinister email, and the case takes a terrifying personal twist. 

Can Ruby catch the killer before they strike again? Or will her troubled past catch up with her first?

My thoughts
OH MY FREAKING GOD........ what a book!!!! This has got to be Caroline’s best book to date. I am a massive fan of Detective Jennifer Knight. But OMG Caroline has totally stepped up her game with this dark and twisted Ruby Preston novel.
So in this story we meet kick ass Detective Ruby Preston and we follow her on a journey to hunt down a disturbed individual before someone else is taken. But when bodies start turning up, staged in perfect, domestic scenes, it carries the echo of a memory in Ruby's mind. The tinkling of a music box. A mother and child reunion...
Then just as Ruby thinks they've made a breakthrough, she receives a sinister email, and the case takes a terrifying personal twist. 
I was hooked from the very first page, and talk about fast paced I devoured it in one day. With each chapter leaving you wanting more. I was gutted I had to put it down to go to work, but I was straight back on it when I got home.
This story is so warped, twisted, brutal and gritty that some of the descriptions actually made me gag. Sounds bad but this is actually a good thing that a book had that effect on me.
But for me this book has it all including a few laugh out loud moments. One thing I did love is the element of Gangland in this story with hottie Nathan, We all love a bad boy right?!…..I am actually in love with a character. He and Ruby make an excellent team. And Ruby isn't your run of the mill Detective she lives life more on the edge.....Love it!
For me this is the best book I have read this year. You crime fans certainly won't be disappointed it is mind-blowing!!! If you are looking for something to sink your teeth into this is the book for you.
Without a doubt this is one massive five star read from me. I cannot wait until the next book is out.
A massive thank you to Kim Nash at Bookouture for an early copy in exchange for an honest review.



Amazon Codes
LOVE YOU TO DEATH

About The Author
A former police detective, Caroline has worked in CID and specialised in roles dealing with vulnerable victims, high risk victims of domestic abuse, and serious sexual offences. Originally from Ireland, Caroline lives with her family in a pretty village on the coast of Essex. She now writes full time.


Published by Bookouture, her DC Knight crime thriller series reached the number one position in the Amazon crime charts. Love You To Death, the first in her new series featuring DS Ruby Preston is due for publication 11th November 2016.

Her new psychological thriller, Witness, is published with Thomas & Mercer and due for publication 20th December 2016. 

Sign up to join her Reader's club for access to news, updates and exclusive competitions and giveaways. http://eepurl.com/IxsTj


9 November 2016

Invisible by Barbara Copperthwaite

InvisibleInvisible by Barbara Copperthwaite
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Having Loved Flowers For The Dead earlier this year I couldn't wait to get stuck into Invisible which is actually the authors debut book. And has always I will be totally honest. I started this book thinking its a Marmite book after being told that. And whoever told me that is so wrong I actually think it is has good has Flowers For the Dead if not better! I have to say this is a totally different novel. From the story line to how its written but I loved everything about it. It is without a doubt fan-flipping-tastic.

Having not read the blurb,all I knew about the story line is that its about a lorry driver now I have read the book, there is actually more to this story than just a lorry driver. This is actually a story written has a diary so each page you read is a diary entry. We follow a story about a woman who's name is never revealed throughout the whole story. Just her husband using pet names like Gorgeous or Babe. Which I found intriguing Having been married nine years she feels something isn't right with herself, her marriage and her husband.Until one explosive night she finds a possible answer. And that was the moment I found myself saying OH MY GOD and it made my stomach turn! seriously I wasn't expecting that.

With the story being told from her point of view there were moments when I wanted to shake her and say Really! but also feeling sorry for her at the same time. But I did love her sarcastic sense of humor she had which I could totally relate to being like that myself.

The authors writing skills are so well crafted I could feel the tension and emotion in the court room bringing a tear to my eye.

I seriously think everyone that as read Flowers For The Dead should read Invisible. In fact I think this is a must read for Physiological thriller fans. It is one well and truly twisted and gripping read which I highly recommend giving it 5 massive stars.


View all my reviews

DARK FRAGMENTS by ROB SINCLAIR ~~~~~BLOG TOUR~~~~~

I am delighted say it is my stop on Dark Fragments by Rob Sinclair blog tour. Where you can check out my thoughts with my 4 star review today.






The Book


Dark Fragments: an edge of your seat thriller from the best-selling author of The Enemy Series

Murder. Money. Revenge.
Outwardly, Ben Stephens appears to be a normal, hard-working family man. In reality, his life has been in turmoil since the murder of his wife, Alice, seven years ago. The killer was never caught.
Now re-married - to the woman he was having an affair with while still married to Alice - Ben’s life is once again spiralling out of control, and he’s become heavily indebted to an unscrupulous criminal who is baying for Ben’s blood.
When Ben’s estranged twin sister, a police detective, unexpectedly returns to his life, asking too many questions for comfort, it becomes clear that without action, Ben’s life will soon reach a crisis point from which there will be no return.
In order to avoid falling further into the mire, Ben must examine the past if he is to survive the present - but just how much pressure can one man take before he breaks?



My thoughts
First of all I have to say what a massive fan I am of the Enemy series. And if you are looking for Logan you will not find him in this story. You will find a character called Ben. Rob Sinclair  has turned his hand at writing a Psychological thriller with this story which I thoroughly enjoyed keeping me entertained from start to finish in one afternoon. I simply couldn't put it down. Wanting to know what was going to happen with this intriguing story.
Told from Ben’s point of view we follow his story. Ben appears to be a hard working family man although his wife got killed 7 years ago and the killer was never caught.
Having an affair while he was married to Ben had an affair who he is now married to.. and he’s become heavily indebted to an unscrupulous criminal who is baying for Ben’s blood.And once again things are what they seem to be and his life is falling apart.
When Ben’s estranged twin sister, a police detective, unexpectedly returns to his life, asking too many questions for comfort, it becomes clear that without action, Ben’s life will soon reach a crisis point from which there will be no return.
From the start I wanted to know who killed Alice keeping me gripped and has the plot thickens I found myself on wondering where this story was going with the author doing a brilliant job of building up the tension keeping me guessing until the end.
This is one of those stories that has characters in that you like and don't like which is how a good book should be. Ben is one of those characters I felt sorry for but then has the story went on he got under my skin.
Dark Fragments is full of twists and turns which I highly recommend to Psychological thriller fans giving it 4 stars.
Thank you to BloodHound books for a copy in exchange for an honest review







5 November 2016

BLOOD LINES by Angela Marsons ~~~~~~~BLOG TOUR~~~~~~~~

Today I am delighted to be hosting Blog Tour for Blood Lines By Angela Marsons with a 5 star review.






The Book

How do you catch a killer who leaves no trace?


A victim killed with a single, precise stab to the heart appears at first glance to be a robbery gone wrong. A caring, upstanding social worker lost to a senseless act of violence. But for Detective Kim Stone, something doesn’t add up.

When a local drug addict is found murdered with an identical wound, Kim knows instinctively that she is dealing with the same killer. But with nothing to link the two victims except the cold, calculated nature of their death, this could be her most difficult case yet.

Desperate to catch the twisted individual, Kim’s focus on the case is threatened when she receives a chilling letter from Dr Alex Thorne, the sociopath who Kim put behind bars. And this time, Alex is determined to hit where it hurts most, bringing Kim face-to-face with the woman responsible for the death of Kim’s little brother – her own mother.

As the body count increases, Kim and her team unravel a web of dark secrets, bringing them closer to the killer. But one of their own could be in mortal danger. Only this time, Kim might not be strong enough to save them…

My thoughts

This is the fifth novel in the DI Kim Stone and Angela just got a whole lot more gritty….. this is the best  one yet. Yes I keep saying it but this one grabs you round the throat and doesn't let you go until the end! I have loved every story of this series and they just get better and better. But to me Blood Lines  is more dark and gritter.

Once again we follow Kim on a journey around the Black Country looking for a killer who leaves on trace with a body count rising and Kim desperate to catch the individual. But she receives a letter from  Sociopath Dr Alex Thorne who she put behind bars Alex is determined to hit where it hurts most, bringing Kim face-to-face with the woman responsible for the death of Kim’s little brother – her own mother.

OMG what a plot having followed Kim throughout this series I love the fact that we get more of an insight to her past. which is pretty dark.And I feel like I am really getting to know her now.The Prologue starts off at Drake Hall Prison that was it for me I was hooked devouring this book in one evening.

This can be read has a standalone but it is too good a series not to miss.

Angela Marsons fans are in for a treat with this latest installment I cannot recommend it enough.Giving it 5 massive stars. I cannot wait to read what is instore for Kim in the next story.

Thank you to Bookouture and Netgalley for a copy in exchange for an honest review.






4 November 2016

Safe With Me by KL Slater ~~~~~~Blog Tour~~~~~~~~

I am super excited to be hosting Safe With Me by KL Slater Blog Tour. Today is the day I can share my 5 star review with you. After being one of the first bloggers to read it, I have been dying to tell you what I think.



The Book

Thirteen years ago someone did something very bad to Anna. Now it’s her turn to get even …

Anna lives a solitary existence, taking solace in order and routine. Her only friend is the lonely old lady next door. She doesn’t like to let people to get too close – she knows how much damage they can do.

Then one ordinary day Anna witnesses a devastating road accident and recognises the driver as Carla, the woman who ruined her life all those years ago. Now it’s Anna’s chance to set things straight but her revenge needs to be executed carefully …

First she needs to get to know Liam, the man injured in the accident. She needs to follow the police investigation. She needs to watch Carla from the shadows…

But as Anna’s obsession with Carla escalates, her own secrets start to unravel. Is Carla really dangerous or does Anna need to worry about someone far closer to home?

My Thoughts

I couldn't wait to get my hands on this book from the moment I saw the cover reveal and read the blurb and what can I say but Holy Hell what a jaw dropper!.....Just need a moment to lift my jaw back off the floor, what a fantastic debut! Seriously I cannot believe this is a debut, you guys are in for a treat. KL Slater is most definitely one talented writer. And I do love a good psychological thriller but this is way past good this actually the best one I have read lately. I absolutely loved it.

This story grabs you from the start and doesn't let you go until the end. With one very intriguing  and beautifully written prologue. Then the story moves forward to the present day introducing us  to Anna who witnesses a road accident…...oh my god what a gripping start! Anna is a person who Keeps herself to herself and not letting people get to close to her. The only friend she has is the lonely old neighbor next door.

While Anna witnesses the accident and she recognises the driver as Carla, a woman from her past ruined her life all those years ago. Now it’s time for revenge but first she needs to get to know Liam, the man injured in the accident. She needs to follow the police investigation. She needs to watch Carla from the shadows…

Anna’s obsession with Carla soon starts to  escalate and her own secrets start to unravel. Is Carla really dangerous or does Anna need to worry about someone far closer to home?

KL Stater has done a brilliant job of building up the tension throughout this story keeping the reader on tenterhooks.Then BOOM…..what a shocker, I wasn't expecting that.

Be prepared to get nothing done once you start this novel. I read it in one evening I was that sucked in I couldn't put it down this is a page turner and a half with plenty of twists and turns. This is one of those books that really gets inside your head. And without a doubt a must read. Making me want to shout from the roof tops about it! Giving it a well deserved massive 5 stars.

Thank you to Bookouture and Netgalley for a copy in exchange  for an honest review.




About the Author

For many years, Kim sent her work out to literary agents but never made it off the slush pile. At the age of 40 she went back to Nottingham Trent University and now has an MA in Creative Writing.

Before graduating, she received five offers of representation from London literary agents and a book deal which was, as Kim says, ‘a fairytale … at the end of a very long road!’

Kim writes psychological crime thrillers for Bookouture. Her first book, 'Safe with Me' is published on 3rd November 2016.

Kim is a full-time writer and lives in Nottingham with her husband, Mac. Between them they have three grown-up kids; Kim's daughter, Francesca, and Mac's sons, Nathan and Jake.

She also writes multi-award winning YA fiction under the name Kim Slater.

Author website: www.KLSlaterAuthor.com
Twitter: @KimLSlater
Facebook: KL Slater