Brick by Conrad Jones #Blogtour

I am delighted to be kicking off Brick Blog Tour on publication day with a 5 star review.



The Book
When a teenager is the victim of an unprovoked attack while walking his dog, a murder investigation begins. A cruel twist of fate makes his innocent family the targets of a vicious campaign of terror. As the detectives of Liverpool’s Major Investigation Team try to contain the violence, several key members of an organised crime family begin to topple, causing shockwaves across the world.
Why was the teenager attacked?
And will the villains be brought to justice?

My Thoughts

When I was asked to review Brick I jumped at the chance due to the fact that it has been sitting on my kindle for sometime now I wish I had read it sooner.With this being the first book that I have read by the author I really didn't know what to expect but wow I am extremely impressed.  And very happy to report that I have found the male author of KImberly Chambers! This is one kick ass story that grit lit fans will love….I certainly did.
The author won me over by the very first sentence in the prologue. For those of you that know me and have read Brick will know exactly what I mean. But It didn't end there, it turned out to be a OMG nail biting tense start to this gripping story.

We follow a follow about Bryn a 14 year old whose life drastically changes with out walking his dog when he is involved in an unprovoked attack. Which ends up in a murder investigation.  A cruel twist of fate makes his innocent family the targets of a vicious campaign of terror.
As the detectives of Liverpool’s Major Investigation Team try to contain the violence, several key members of an organised crime family begin to topple, causing shockwaves across the world. With the question why was the teenager attacked?
The story grabs you from the first page and keeps you captive until the end. And OMG what an action packed ending, talk about keeping me on the edge of my sit. Quite frankly the whole book is action packed. Full of characters that you will love and hate.
The author has done such a good job of making this story very real for me. From the descriptions to the story line where I felt like I was right in the story.  So much so that one family in the story reminded me of a family that are well known in my area. I was actually intrigued has to whether the family In the story was real or fiction.

Brick is one hardcore read and jam packed with graphic violence, which you would expect to find in a grit lit novel. So it's not for the faint hearted and readers that are easily offended.
This is a must read for fans of Mandasue Heller Kimberly Chambers and Dreda Say Mitchell which I highly recommend giving it 5 gritty stars.
 
Author bio:

I am Conrad Jones a 50-year-old Author, originally from a sleepy green-belt called Tarbock Green, which is situated on the outskirts of Liverpool. I spent a number of years living in Holyhead, Anglesey, which I class as my home, before starting a career as a trainee manger with McDonalds Restaurants in 1989. I worked in management at McDonalds Restaurants Ltd from 1989-2002, working my way up to Business Consultant (area manager) working in the corporate and franchised departments.
In March 1993 I was managing the Restaurant in Warrington`s Bridge St when two Irish Republican Army bombs exploded directly outside the store, resulting in the death of two young boys and many casualties. Along with hundreds of other people there that day I was deeply affected by the attack, which led to a long-term interest in the motivation and mind set of criminal gangs. I began to read anything crime related that I could get my hands on.
I link this experience with the desire to write books on the subject, which came much later on due to an unusual set of circumstances. Because of that experience my early novels follow the adventures of an elite counter terrorist unit, The Terrorist Task Force, and their leader, John Tankersley, or `Tank`and they are the Soft Target Series, which have been described by a reviewer as ‘Reacher on steroids’.  
I had no intentions of writing until 2007, when I set off on an 11-week tour of the USA. The Day before I boarded the plane, Madeleine Mcann disappeared and all through the holiday I followed the American news reports which had little or no information about her. I didn't realise it at the time, but the terrible kidnap would inspire my book, The Child Taker years later. During that trip, I received news that my house had been burgled and my work van and equipment were stolen. That summer was the year when York and Tewksbury were flooded by a deluge and insurance companies were swamped with claims. They informed me that they couldn't do anything for weeks and that returning home would be a wasted journey. Rendered unemployed on a beach in Clearwater, Florida, I decided to begin my first book, Soft Target. I have never stopped writing since. I have recently completed my 17th novel, SHADOWS, something that never would have happened but for that burglary and my experiences in Warrington.
As far as my favourite series ever, it has to be James Herbert’s, The Rats trilogy. The first book did for me what school books couldn’t. It fascinated me, triggered my imagination and gave me the hunger to want to read more. I waited years for the second book, The Lair, and Domain, the third book to come out and they were amazing. Domain
I had no intentions of writing until 2007, when I set off on an 11-week tour of the USA. The Day before I boarded the plane, Madeleine Mcann disappeared and all through the holiday I followed the American news reports which had little or no information about her. I didn't realise it at the time, but the terrible kidnap would inspire my book, The Child Taker years later. During that trip, I received news that my house had been burgled and my work van and equipment were stolen. That summer was the year when York and Tewksbury were flooded by a deluge and insurance companies were swamped with claims. They informed me that they couldn't do anything for weeks and that returning home would be a wasted journey. Rendered unemployed on a beach in Clearwater, Florida, I decided to begin my first book, Soft Target. I have never stopped writing since. I have recently completed my 17th novel, SHADOWS, something that never would have happened but for that burglary and my experiences in Warrington.
As far as my favourite series ever, it has to be James Herbert’s, The Rats trilogy. The first book did for me what school books couldn’t. It fascinated me, triggered my imagination and gave me the hunger to want to read more. I waited years for the second book, The Lair, and Domain, the third book to come out and they were amazing. Domain is one of the best books I have ever read. In later years, Lee Child, especially the early books, has kept me hypnotised on my sunbed on holiday as has Michael Connelley and his Harry Bosch Series.      
Links:
jonesconrad5@aol.com

Popular Posts