A Pearl for My Mistress by Annabel Fielding #BlogTour

I am delighted to share my 4 star review with you today for A Pearl for My Mistress by Annabel Fielding which is out now.


The Book
A story of class, scandal and forbidden passions in the shadow of war. Perfect for fans of Iona Grey, Gill Paul and Downton Abbey.

England, 1934. Hester Blake, an ambitious girl from an industrial Northern town, finds a job as a lady's maid in a small aristocratic household.
Despite their impressive title and glorious past, the Fitzmartins are crumbling under the pressures of the new century. And in the cold isolation of these new surroundings, Hester ends up hopelessly besotted with her young mistress, Lady Lucy.
Accompanying Lucy on her London Season, Hester is plunged into a heady and decadent world. But hushed whispers of another war swirl beneath the capital... and soon, Hester finds herself the keeper of some of society's most dangerous secrets…

My Thoughts
This is the first book that I have by Annabel Fielding and certainly won’t be my last. The author takes us back to 1934 where we meet Hester Blake. This isn't my normal everyday read but with that gorgeous cover I thought I would give it a whirl. And to my surprise I really enjoyed it.

I actually read this book in two sittings, and it is more of a slow burner compared to the books I normally read. The author has clearly done her research and with her stunning descriptions I felt right like I was in the story. Hester finds herself a job as a lady’s maid and fulls for her young mistress Lady Lucy. The story not only focuses on a lesbian love affair but also on the fascist movement.

A Pearl for My Mistress is beautifully written and is full of mystery and secrets that will keep you turning the pages until the very end. I loved the historical setting which made the story  something special.

This is a must read for fans of Downton Abbey which I highly recommend giving it 4 stars.

Massive thank you to Annabel for inviting me along to take part in Blog Tour.






Popular Posts